Ryoko Akama

Stream Samples from Two New Albums Released on caduc.

The consistent Vancouver-based record label caduc. have just released two new albums. The first is Hermit, a composition from Ryoko Akama that's performed by Cristián Alvear. Earlier this year, Alvear's disc on Rhizome.s featured an Akama composition entitled "line.ar.me". You can hear a snippet of the album above. The second new caduc. release comes from Steerage, a collaboration between A.F. Jones and Barry Chabala. The debut album from this duo is entitled entropy is what the state makes of it and you can stream one of its tracks above. A video for the same track can be viewed here as well. A.F. Jones released Repetend, Parallax with Derek Rogers back in March via Glistening Examples.

As with all caduc. releases, both Hermit and entropy come with their own specific bookmark. You can purchase both CDs here.

Stream New Albums from Jason Kahn & Tim Olive, Ryoko Akama & Bruno Duplant

After having released two excellent albums earlier this year, Notice Recordings have two more cassette releases available to stream and purchase. The first comes from Jason Kahn & Tim Olive and is entitled Fukuoka / Osaka. As with Kahn and Olive's Two Sunrise on 845 Audio last year, the music that makes up this release comes from live recordingsof concerts that took place in Japan. You can stream the entire album and purchase the cassette here.

Ryoko Akama and Bruno Duplant also have a new album out entitled immobilité. Akama and Duplant have worked together before—they had an album on Suppedaneum and one with Dominic Lash on Another Timbre, both from last year. The new record can be streamed and purchased here. Both of these new releases from Notice Recordings are limited to 100 cassettes each.

Senu Hima, Ryoko Akama's New Album on Melange Edition is Available Now

Ryoko Akama has released her new album Senu Hima on Melange Edition. Akama's previous release, Code of Silence, was the inaugural release for the small label in 2014. Senu Hima features compositions, both old and new, from Jürg Frey, Sarah Hughes, Antoine Beuger, and James Saunders. The press release for the album gives an explanation of the title:

‘senu hima’ is a traditional art concept derived from Noh culture in Japan in which where nothing is (silence, gap, space, absence etc) is explored as the most important passage of works. As if opposing to my anticipation, I was given scores that requested me to ‘perform’ actively with sequences, numbers and certain rules. It was a challenge for me to come up with my correspondence to the scores but somehow I discovered how I could propose my performance in relation to the pieces. With these propositions that score suggested, I attempted a way to establish a fine balance between where there is and where there is nothing. As a result, this has become the strangest, qwertiest and the most loving album for me. / ryoko akama

Throughout September and October, Melange Edition has a deal that involves getting a discount on the first two releases of the label when purchasing Senu Hima. You can purchase the album and hear snippets from the album here. The tracklist is below.


1. Die meisten Sachen macht man selten 10:00
2. I Love This City and its Outlying Lands (1.2) 26:50
3. touw (voor joop) 21:45
4. overlay (with transience) 15:00

Track 1 composed by Jürg Frey (1994/97)
Track 2 composed by Sarah Hughes (2014/15)
Track 3 composed by Antoine Beuger (1996)
Track 4 composed by James Saunders (2014)