Notice Recordings

Notice Recordings Releases New Cassette Batch: Okkyung Lee, Sarah Hennies & Greg Stuart, Matt Hannafin performing John Cage

Notice Recordings Releases New Cassette Batch: Okkyung Lee, Sarah Hennies & Greg Stuart, Matt Hannafin performing John Cage

Notice Recordings has released a new batch of cassettes. The first release comes from the esteemed New York-based cellist Okkyung Lee. Her new album is entitled Speckled Stones and Dissonant Green Dots. The first track is currently available for streaming and features a sprightly arrangement or computer-generated and analogue synthesizer. The B-side is said to “suggest early polyphony.” You can purchase the cassette on Bandcamp here.

The second new release from Notice Recordings is from percussionists Sarah Hennies and Greg Stuart. The B-side “Basin” is currently available for streaming and features a captivating assortment of found sounds that form a mysterious narrative-of-sorts. You can find more information about the album and purchase it here.

The third new release from Notice Recordings is from Matt Hannafin and finds him performing pieces from John Cage. It’s called Four Realizations for Solo Percussion and features compositions that Cage wrote during the last thirty years of his life. One piece, entitled “c Ȼomposed Improvisation,” was written for Glen Velez, a percussionist that Hannafin studied under. You can stream the A-side can be streamed above. More information about the pieces and purchasing the album can be found here. All three cassettes are limited to 100 copies.

Notice Recordings Announce New Releases from Jamie Drouin & Lance Austin Olsen, Nick Hoffman


Notice Recordings are planning to release their second cassette batch of the year very soon. It features two new releases, the first of which is a recording from Jamie Drouin and Lance Austin Olsen. It's entitled Hidden Paradise and finds the two continuing to make subtle but cavernous ambient soundscapes. Earlier this year, the two released The Source on their own record label, Infrequency Editions.

The second release comes from Nick Hoffman. The album is entitled Salamander and finds the musician crafting electronic-based sound design that skitters but feels meditative all the same. Earlier this year, Hoffman released Parvae Harmoniae on his own Pilgrim Talk label. These albums mark the first time any of these artists have appeared on the label. You can listen to excerpts from both albums above via SoundCloud. Be on the look out for both releases on the Notice Recordings Bandcamp page soon.

Stream New Albums from Loren Chasse and Rafael Toral

Notice Recordings have just released their final pair of albums for the year. One release comes from Portland musician Loren Chasse and is entitled The Sodden Floor. The album was recorded from 2011-2014 and is comprised of four intimate drones. The other new release comes from Rafael Toral and is a live recording taken from his set with drummer Alfonso Simões at All Tomorrow’s Parties in 2010. The album is called Space Collective 2 Live. You can read press releases for both albums below.

Loren Chasse - The Sodden Floor:

Portland, Ore. musician and naturalist Loren Chasse has a long and varied history within the more organic and textural branches of drone and sound art. Comprising pregnant field recordings, tense drone whispers, and wispy layers of texture, The Sodden Floor’s dark superimpositions drift between momentary dread and almost childlike abstraction. They seem composed with an eye on cinema: sounds drift into focus and then cut or pan away; the resulting shifts constitute a dreamlike presence only sustainable within an ephemeral world, one documented with a half-awake awareness — leaving or coming — but always accepting the flittering yet immovable mise-en-scène aesthetic of non-existence. 

Rafael Toral - Space Collective 2 Live:

Space Collective 2 Live commemorates Portuguese musician Rafael Toral’s first U.S. tour in several years. Since the 1990s, Toral has been primarily known for his guitar work, but has since been working on the Space Program project, within which he has probed visceral and personal components of electronic music performance, and how they relate to the performer's experience, not to the resultant product.

These recordings, taken from a live set at All Tomorrow’s Parties in 2010, find Toral performing with drummer Alfonso Simões, developing sparse, deep textures with triggers and modular oddities. Smartly paced and absolutely blistering at times, this set touches on a variety of surprising tones: flute-like expressions, spacey warbles, and intricately patterned arpeggios that dissolve into drone sections with confrontational sonic palettes. 

You can stream both albums above or on the label's bandcamp page here. Both releases are limited to 100 copies and come with an immediate digital download. Digital copies will become available at a reduced price once the physical cassettes are sold out.

Stream New Albums from Jason Kahn & Tim Olive, Ryoko Akama & Bruno Duplant

After having released two excellent albums earlier this year, Notice Recordings have two more cassette releases available to stream and purchase. The first comes from Jason Kahn & Tim Olive and is entitled Fukuoka / Osaka. As with Kahn and Olive's Two Sunrise on 845 Audio last year, the music that makes up this release comes from live recordingsof concerts that took place in Japan. You can stream the entire album and purchase the cassette here.

Ryoko Akama and Bruno Duplant also have a new album out entitled immobilité. Akama and Duplant have worked together before—they had an album on Suppedaneum and one with Dominic Lash on Another Timbre, both from last year. The new record can be streamed and purchased here. Both of these new releases from Notice Recordings are limited to 100 cassettes each.