Jürg Frey

Erstwhile Records Announce New Five Disc Jürg Frey Album


Erstwhile Records has just announced a new album for its ErstClass imprint. It's by Jürg Frey and entitled l'àme est sans retenue I. According to Google Translate, it means "the soul is unrestrained". The album is composed of a single piece that lasts approximately six hours and spans five discs. It's the longest piece Frey has written in his 40+ years of composing and is also the longest piece on any Erstwhile imprint. It's also the first archival release for the record label. Erstwhile owner Jon Abbey states that the album will hopefully be released in October.

Earlier this year, Frey released Ephemeral Constructions on Edition Wandelweiser Records.

It was previously stated that the above picture was the album cover; it is merely a promotional image.

Another Timbre Announces New Albums from Joseph Kudirka, Klaus Filip & Leonel Kaplan, and Jürg Frey

Another Timbre has just announced their next batch of albums. The first new album comes from Edges Ensemble member James Kudirka. The Edges Ensemble performed on previous Another Timbre discs including Michael Pisaro's Fields Have Ears, James Saunders' Imperfections On The Surface Are Occasionally Apparent, and the Wandelweiser Und So Weiter box set. Kudirka has also realized Pisaro's An Unrhymed Chord. Kudirka's new album is entitled Beauty and Industry and features eight chamber pieces performed by Apartment House.

The second new album comes from Klaus Filip & Leonel Kaplan and is entitled tocando fondo. The album is made up of two improvised pieces featuring sine waves and trumpet. Another Timbre will also release a new album by Jürg Frey. The record is entitled Circles and Landscapes and has six solo piano pieces performed by Philip Thomas. Another Timbre released an album from Frey earlier this year entitled Grizanna and other pieces 2009-2014. All three albums will be released some time in November. You can listen to samples from all three albums below. More information can be found on the Another Timbre website here.


Edition Wandelweiser Announce New Albums From Jürg Frey, Eva-Maria Houben, and Marianne Schuppe


Edition Wandelweiser have announced a new batch of albums. The first album consists of Jürg Frey's "String Quartet no. 3" and "unhörbare zeit". The pieces were performed by Quatuor Bozzini (pictured above), who had previously released a disc of Frey string quartets on Edition Wandelweiser back in 2006. The second new release comes from the ever-prolific Eva-Maria Houben and will be performed by Wilfried Krüger. The piece is entitled "aus den fliegenden blättern eines fahrenden waldhornisten", which translates to "from the flying leaves of a traveling horn player". The third new album comes from Marianne Schuppe and is entitled slow songs. Tracklists for all three albums are below. All three albums will come out on November 9th. There's a pre-order deal available until then in which you can purchase all three at a reduced price of 30. More information on the releases as well excerpts from all three albums can be found here.


Jürg Frey - String Quartet no. 3 / unhörbare zeit tracklist:

1. string quartet no. 3 (2010-2014)
2. unhörbare zeit (2004-2006)

Eva-Maria Houben - aus den fliegenden blättern eines fahrenden waldhornisten tracklist:

1. 1
2. 2
3. 3
4. 4
5. 5
6. 6
7. 7
8. 8
9. 9
10. 10
11. 11
12. 12
13. 13
14. 14
15. 15

Marianne Schuppe - slow songs tracklist:

1. I see a deer
2. condensationdate
3. needles
4. fathers & feathers
5. keys1
6. pretty ride1
7. cores
8. pretty ride2
9. keys2
10. pipes
11. split away