Stefan Thut

Stefan Thut's 'un/even and one' Out Now on Intonema


Russia-based label Intonema has just released a new album by Stefan Thut. It's entitled un/even and one and features a recording of a performance taken last June in Saint Petersburg. You can stream an excerpt from the piece above. The press release is as follows:

Intonema continues to produce works by Wandelweiser composers performed by Russian musicians. Stefan Thut, a Swiss composer and cello player, came to Saint Petersburg in June 2015 to present his new score "un/even and one" which Yuri Akbalkan, Anna Antipova, Ilia Belorukov, Andrey Popovskiy and Denis Sorokin performed with him. In this score Thut joined the sounds from transcribed language played through the surface of a moving cardboard box with acoustic and electronic instruments. Silence and sound mirror the interleaving of score, space, performer and instrumentalists.

You can find more information about un/even and one and purchase it on the Intonema website here. You can also purchase a digital copy of the album from the label's Bandcamp site here.

INSUB. Release Three New Albums

Swiss record label INSUB. has just released three new albums. You can stream all three albums above courtesy of INSUB.'s bandcamp page. The first of these albums is entitled One and Seven and features a piece composed by Stefan Thut and performed by the Insub.8tet. The Insub.8tet includes Thut himself alongside artists like D'incise, Cyril Bondi, and Rodolphe Loubatière. One and Seven is 55 minutes long and finds various tones and voices weaving in and out of each other in a low-key, linear fashion. You can find more information about the album and purchase it here.

The second new album features an unedited live concert recording of Illogical Harmonies, the duo of Johnny Chang and Mike Majkowksi, performing with D'incise. The performance was one of two that took place in Switzerland and is 41 minutes in length. More information and purchasing information can be found here.

The third new album comes from Miguel A. Garcia and is entitled argiope. It features six tracks which span 48 minutes and includes contributions from Miguel Prado, Ainara LeGardon, Roberto Mallo, and more. You can purchase argiopre and read more information about the album here.