Erstwhile Records Announces The Shadow Ring Box Set on New Imprint ErstPast


Erstwhile Records has announced a new imprint called ErstPast. As is hinted at by the name, ErstPast will focus primarily on archival releases. They have two major releases planned for 2019, one of which has been announced today: a box set containing the complete recorded works of The Shadow Ring. The Shadow Ring were formed in England in 1992 and featured Graham Lambkin and Darren Harris after having performed together as Footprint. Tim Goss joined the lineup in 1996, and the trio would continue to make music together until their disbandment in 2003.

This box set will contain 12 CDs and 1 DVD, marking the first time that the band’s complete recordings have been released in one place. Graham Lambkin had previously released two compilations on his now-defunct label Kye. The box set will contain all material found on previous records—City Lights, Put The Music In It's Coffin, Wax-Work Echoes, Live in U.S.A., Hold Onto I.D., Lighthouse, Lindus, I'm Some Songs, and Remains Unchanged. There will also be previously unreleased material in the box set.

As a note, much of the material that The Shadow Ring recorded was not mastered. As such, these recordings will be mastered (or remastered) for this release. The box set is projected to be released in 2019. There will be more details closer to the release date. Revisit some tracks below.